Delta Youths Protest Substitution Of Elected Adhoc Delegates List….. barricades major roads

Delta PDP

Ahead of PDP primaries, youths numbering over three hundred from Oleh Ward One and Two in Isoko South Local Government Area have staged a peaceful protest barricading the busy Oleh roundabout over the substitution of the names of it’s elected adhoc delegates.

The blockage caused heavy vehicular traffic gridlock as the road was closed to traffic for over one hour while security operatives made frantic effort to ensure peace while the protest lasted.

The Isoko youths displaying placards with various inscriptions such as “Okowa is a good leader”, “Okowa is a peaceful leader”, “Oleh delegate list should not be tempered with” and “leave Oleh delegate list” insisted that the adhoc delegate list must reflect the election which was conducted in the presence of the PDP Ward Chairmen for Oleh Ward One,Mr Lucky Ukpeowe and Ward Two ,Mr Idogho Paul, leaders,youths and stakeholders which elected three adhoc delegates each from the two Wards.

Speaking on behalf of the protesters,Vincent Obonyano from Oleh Ward One and Engineer Chris Kelvin from Oleh Ward two said after a successful election where three adhoc delegates each were elected,they were surprised that the names of those elected have been substituted hence the protest to register their grievances.

They noted that the substitution of the names of elected adhoc delegates clearly showed that some persons were out to shortchange the people in order to carry out their selfish motives adding that the names submitted to the PDP Chairman,Isoko South,Mr Obaro Godspower was unanimously agreed upon by all leaders and wondered that at what point did the leaders meet to effect the changes .

The Youth Leaders accused the Isoko South PDP Chairman,Mr Obaro Godspower for substituting the names of adhoc delegates noting that for Oleh Ward one, the adhoc delegates elected are Honourable Joe Iroro,Idhoveh Lucky and Edo Oghenero Joy but the name of Idhoveh Lucky was substituted with one Emudhere Ufuoma Israel.

According to them,the elected adhoc delegates for Oleh Ward Two are Chief Onojerme Benjamin, Mr Unuafe Believe and Mrs Roseline Jonathan but the names of Mr Unuafe Believe and Mrs Roseline Jonathan were substituted by one Ejebe Batty Omonigho and Obus Simmer Uyoyouoghene.

They appealed to Governor Ifeanyi Okowa to reinstate the names as that was the only way to pacify them stressing that they were not against the governor or the leadership of the party in the state.

They commended the governor for the way and manner he had piloted the affairs of the state and pledged their loyalty to him.